Reflections

IMG_3545 IMG_3547As the sun rises over a place in which my heart feels so at home I eagerly anticipate the day ahead and the new memories we will make.  His rainbow for us last night is such a reminder of our beautiful HOPE. My heart breaks to hear news of a horrible shooting in my own country and my heart breaks to see precious babies lying in a crib with no one to call Mommy or Daddy in this land far from home. I don’t understand it all, but one thing I do know is that NOTHING is outside of the hand of my Father in Heaven. All I do know is that without Him I would have no hope to face each new day and the heartbreak that lies within each moment. That is our job on this trip: To offer HOPE. It does not happen within the confines of an orphanage. Yesterday, it was no coincidence that the lady I sat next to on the plane from Beijing to our province was a teacher and she also spoke a small amount of English. We shared stories of our classrooms and students and then I shared about THE ONE who gives me the hope of eternity. She had heard of this one we call Jesus in an English class at the university, but she knew nothing of the Hope He offers. We talked and I encouraged her to seek His face after our time together. I may never see the blossom from that conversation, but I planted the seed of Hope He asked me to plant. Would you please pray for my new friend, Gerre, that she would continue to seek Him?

IMG_3526Once our plane arrived, we were quickly greeted by the staff at the orphanage and taken to our hotel for a delicious lunch and few moments of rest. Then, at 3:30 we headed to tour the orphanage. Despite the fact that some of us had been here before, each time is a new experience. In those few hours, we held babies and hugged Nannies and we watched as two of our team members thanked those who had loved and cared for their own children for the first few years of their lives. That was a moment we each shared tears and smiles and we saw the joy multiplied by people who share a common goal and HOPE.

In the time that followed we shared a dinner prepared especially to welcome us and the beauty of that meal was exceptional.

IMG_3539

Now we welcome this new day and look with expectation and hope as we focus on our common word: Flexibility. We are yours, Lord, to use as you see the need. Our hearts, minds and eyes are on You to show us the way for today.

IMG_3542IMG_3536May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your kind words

