Everyone is home-Now what?

We traveled the miles

IMG_4566

and wore the tshirt,

IMG_0150
we ate the food and experienced the culture

IMG_4681IMG_7915IMG_7954IMG_4534and oh how we shed the tears!
IMG_0248

Now what?

Do we come back home and live life like normal? Do we forget the faces that stared into our eyes and looked with longing for someone to love them? Returning home is HARD! How can I say that when we live in the land of plenty? We have most anything we could ever want at our fingertips and yet we want more.

It is HARD because we felt the need, we experienced the heartache and now we desire  more for these precious children. We know they are loved by their caregivers, but that will never replace the love of a family. So many people asked, “Did you bring a baby back home?” If it were only that easy I can promise you we would have brought many of them back home.

So, we each must answer the question, “WHAT NOW?

The answer will look differently for each of us-some will make plans to adopt, some will find other ways to serve because we each have a different calling and different purposes to fulfill, some will begin preparing for the next trip.

However, one thing is certain: we  all agree that we have been changed and like the words to Matthew West’s song, we are ready to “Do Something.”

Do Something

Matthew West

(from the album Into The Light)

I woke up this morning

Saw a world full of trouble now

Thought, how’d we ever get so far down

How’s it ever gonna turn around

So I turned my eyes to Heaven

I thought, “God, why don’t You do something?”

Well, I just couldn’t bear the thought of

People living in poverty

Children sold into slavery

The thought disgusted me

So, I shook my fist at Heaven

Said, “God, why don’t You do something?”

He said, “I did, I created you”

If not us, then who

If not me and you

Right now, it’s time for us to do something

If not now, then when

Will we see an end

To all this pain

It’s not enough to do nothing

It’s time for us to do something

I’m so tired of talking

About how we are God’s hands and feet

But it’s easier to say than to be

Live like angels of apathy who tell ourselves

It’s alright, “somebody else will do something”

Well, I don’t know about you

But I’m sick and tired of life with no desire

I don’t want a flame, I want a fire

I wanna be the one who stands up and says,

I’m gonna do something”

We are the salt of the earth

We are a city on a hill

But we’re never gonna change the world

By standing still

No we won’t stand still

No we won’t stand still

No we won’t stand still

Publishing: Songs of Southside Independent Music Publishing / External Combustion Music / Songs for Delaney (ASCAP)

Writer(s): Matthew West

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your kind words

